

Rt Hon Alok Sharma MP President of COP26 1 Victoria Street London, SW1H 0ET

7th October 2020

Dear Alok,

Conservative climate leadership at COP26

We are writing to express our support for the UK's upcoming Presidency of the UNFCCC COP26 and to offer our help in making it a success. Next year's Glasgow summit gives us a platform to showcase the UK's record of climate leadership, and the role of successive Conservative Governments in driving much of this progress. It's also an opportunity for UK businesses and experts working in the low-carbon economy to showcase their research, technologies, and services, and to boost international efforts to deliver a green recovery.

Firstly, we would like to ask that Parliamentarians be given opportunities to be directly involved in COP. We would welcome suitable whipping or recess arrangements to ensure that we can attend the conference, at least in part. We would also like to have opportunities to discuss COP26 in Parliament, and ask that you consider allocating government time to discuss this. We hope you will consider creating voluntary COP 'envoy' or 'ambassador' roles for backbench MPs, empowering us to speak to conservative legislators in other countries in the run-up to Glasgow, for instance.

Secondly, we would like you to use COP26 as an opportunity to engage the public on climate change. Some of us will be hosting local climate summits to gather the views of our constituents on net zero and COP26, which we will submit to you in writing. We hope that the Government will also undertake a major public communications campaign and a national series of events in the run-up to COP26. Greater public awareness of and engagement in climate change could be a major legacy from COP26, and will be vital for bringing everyone with us on the road to net zero.

Thirdly, we hope you will commit the necessary diplomatic resources and senior ministerial time to make COP26 a success. The creation of the Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office is an opportunity to more effectively champion the UK's strategic priorities, including climate change whose consequences could be even more severe than COVID-19 if left unchecked. We welcome your leadership in hosting a meeting on 12th December to encourage countries to submit new national climate plans before the end of the year. In the run-up to that, it is vital that the UK continues to prioritise COP26 and climate diplomacy.

Lastly, we hope you will be as ambitious as possible going into this vital summit in terms of our domestic commitments. We welcome the many climate policies already announced this year, such as the Green Homes Grant and the funding for carbon capture infrastructure. We hope the Comprehensive Spending Review this autumn will prioritise climate change, and make green investments central to our economic recovery and to this government's agenda for the parliament.



In particular, we hope that the UK will use the opportunity of leaving the EU to submit a much more ambitious 'nationally determined contribution' for 2030 that is aligned with our 2050 net zero target and which is in line with the Committee on Climate Change's forthcoming advice. Our new NDC will be one of the most crucial signposts to the international community that the UK takes our climate leadership role seriously and will be critical in securing more ambitious commitments from other countries.

We hope that you will consider these suggestions, and would be delighted to meet with you to discuss this further and hear more about your plans for COP26. The eyes of the world will be on us in Glasgow, and the Conservative Environment Network Parliamentary Caucus stands ready to support you to make this a success.

Yours ever,

42 members of the Conservative Environment Network Parliamentary caucus including

Peter Aldous MP Sally-Ann Hart MP

Rt Hon Baroness Ros Altmann Rt Hon Sir Oliver Heald MP

Siobhan Baillie MP

Duncan Baker MP

Rt Hon Lord Howard of Lympne CH QC

Harriett Baldwin MP
Rt Hon Lord Blencathra
Baroness Anne Jenkin
Anthony Browne MP
David Johnston MP
Felicity Buchan MP
Pauline Latham MP
Steve Brine MP
Tim Loughton MP
Theo Clarke MP
Cherilyn Mackrory MP

Tracey Crouch MP

Dr James Davies MP

Rt Hon Lord Ian Duncan

Dr James Davies MP

Rt Hon Lord Ian Duncan

Dr Jason McCartney MP

Notil Parith MP

Rt Hon Philip Dunne MP

Laura Farris MP

Lord John Randall

Simon Fell MP

George Freeman MP

Rt Hon Sir Roger Gale MP

Rt Hon Dame Cheryl Gillan MP

Rt Hon Theresa Villiers MP

Richard Graham MP

Christian Wakeford MP

Rt Hon Damian Green MP