Boundary Changes - Clwyd East

At the next General Election, the local constituency boundaries are changing.

The independent Boundary Commissions have completed their reviews into Parliamentary Constituency boundaries across the UK and their conclusions have been ratified by Parliament. The new constituencies will contain populations within 5% of the ‘electoral quota’ of 73,393, except for five protected island seats such as Ynys Môn.

For us in North Wales, this means in broad terms that nine constituencies will become seven.

I am currently MP for the Vale of Clwyd and will remain so until the next General Election, which is expected towards the end of 2024.

The Vale of Clwyd first came into being in 1997 but, after 27 years, it will be split into two. So, beyond the next election, the Vale of Clwyd will cease to exist and the communities I currently represent will fall within one of two new seats - Clwyd East or Clwyd North.

The break-up of the Vale of Clwyd constituency will bring with it great sadness. However, I am incredibly pleased to have been adopted as the Conservative candidate for the new seat of Clwyd East at the next election.

Clwyd East will contain the easterly wards of the Vale of Clwyd (Prestatyn North, Prestatyn South West, Prestatyn Central, Prestatyn East, Meliden, Dyserth, Tremeirchion and Llandyrnog). These will join with much of the current Delyn, part of Clwyd West and a small part of Clwyd South, to form the new constituency.

In practice, what this means is that Clwyd East will bring together the areas of Denbighshire and Flintshire which run along and to either side of the Clwydian Range. The communities of Clwyd East – which include the principal towns of Prestatyn, Mold, Holywell, Ruthin and Llangollen – share many coastal, rural or semi-rural interests, including the tourism, small independent business and farming sectors.

Map showing the new Clwyd East constituency